Marcus Davey

Chief Executive and Artistic Director, The Roundhouse


Marcus Davey, the Chief Executive and Artistic Director of the Roundhouse studied at Dartington College of Arts and soon after completing his degree he became the Administrator of Dartington International Summer School and then in addition the Arts Manager for Dartington Hall Trust and Director of concerts programming for Exeter University. In 1995 he was appointed the Artistic Director and Chief Executive of the Norfolk and Norwich Festival, where he created a new contemporary dance festival, a wide ranging creative education programme, an inter-festival orchestral series and commissioned over 60 works in music, dance and the visual arts and expanded the Festival in length, breadth and number of events. He was appointed Chief Executive of The Roundhouse Trust in 1999, where he oversaw and managed the £30m re-development of the Roundhouse into a world class performance space and a state of the art creative centre (the Roundhouse Studios) for large numbers of young people to take part in new media and creative arts programmes.

Voluntary positions have included Chair of the PRSFoundation, including being Chair of Judges for the New Music Award, Chair of the Hackney Youth Orchestras Trust, a founder Trustee of People United and an Advisory Board member of the Clore Leadership Foundation. He is currently Chair of the Dartington International Summer School Foundation, a Board member of Arts Council England, London region, a Trustee of the Longplayer Trust, a member of the Olympic Park Public Realm Commissioning Committee and Chair of the Brook Street Band Trust.

Related speakers

Ann Beynon

Senior Adviser Welsh Affairs for Severn Trent Water and Former Director, BT Wales

Kenneth Tharp

Director, The Africa Centre & Former Chief Executive, The Place

Matthew Barwell

Chief Marketing Officer at Britvic Soft Drinks

Kirsty Lang

Broadcaster & Journalist

Ed Petrie

Children's TV Presenter, CBBC

Trevor Phillips

Co-founder, Webber Phillips & Former President & Deputy Chair, John Lewis Partnership Council